Design On A Budget- 5 Sites That Will Save You Thousands Of Dollars

2016-07-12_08.21.18

Today I found myself browsing a fingerhut catalog circling all of the amazing products I wish I had money to buy. This isn’t the first time I’ve done this and it probably won’t be the last.

Like many other people, I have a wish list or dream book/S; magazines I have circled products in and ripped out images to glue them together, forming my dream home and knowing that it will probably never come to fruition unless I win the lottery.

Being the frugal person I am, that $350 price tag for the perfect outdoor bench makes me cringe. That’s over half of my bi-weekly paycheck for a simple wicker bench (insert gasp here).

But I had an epiphany whilst vigorously circling products; there has got to be someway to get my dream products without breaking the bank!

And so the endless online searching began! It’s amazing what you can find with a simple Google search. After searching for specific products, tweaking a few keywords, and digging through page after page of ads I finally struck gold!

It turns out that there are dozens of sites ( if not more) that cater to us Poor Girls and our dreams of having a fab house! Below are just a few.

Amazon warehouse- This site is an off branch of the main amazon site that is full of diamonds, literally! Everything you can find on the main site you can find here for a fraction of the cost, the only downside is that the box might not be perfect or it may not be in the original packaging but still brand new!

Amazon outlet- Another off branch of amazon.com only this area houses all of last seasons products or overstock and are offered at a discounted rate.

Ebay- We have all heard of eBay and most of us have bought something from the site, but did you know that you can usually find brand new or gently used items that are on your dream list for way cheaper that you could elsewhere? It’s true, my husband swears by eBay and orders all of his high dollar clothing like SouthPole and Ed Hardy cologne from their as well as all the car parts he uses to fix our vehicles. He has probably saved us thousands of dollars by using the site over the last 5 years.

 

Smart phone apps

Wish App- This app puts tons of inexpensive products at your fingertips and allows you to save them for later or buy them immediately. The thing I love most about wish is that after you have saved a few items, wish will find similar items that are marked even cheaper than the ones you saved which helps you save even more money. The downside to the app is most of the products are off brand and most of the 3rd party clothing sellers are from China which sizes their clothing differently than the US. If you do order clothing from the app make sure you check the sizing chart, read the reviews, and always order a size or two up.  Returns can really be a bitch.

Retail me not- I love this app! I’m always looking for ways to save money on things I can’t find on other savings sites so coupons have become my best friend, especially when shopping at my favorite retailers. Retailmenot finds coupons and savings for your favorite stores like Victoria’s Secret, Target, and Macy’s where you normally don’t think about saving money. It’s great for those of us who don’t want to sacrifice quality in the name of saving a few dollars.

 

There you have it, five awesome sites and apps that will help you save thousands of dollars every year.

Follow my blog and get notified when I post new money saving tips and tricks. Stay tuned for next week’s post “25 legitimate ways to make money from home”.

Do you have a favorite site for saving money on your dream product? Share it with the community in the comments below.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Design On A Budget- 5 Sites That Will Save You Thousands Of Dollars

Leave a Reply

