BABY HACK:Super Hydrating Bath Water

maxresdefault

When my son was about a year old he absolutely loved when I would put lotion on him in the cold, dry winter months. He soon began to grow up and started wanting to apply the lotion himself. At the age of 3 he now refuses to let me groom him in any way. Instead he screams and runs away laughing as I try to catch him.

After a few weeks of ranging him I decided that I had had enough. There is only so much chasing one person can do before you admit defeat and I do enough chasing just to put clothes on him.

Soon after I caved his normally soft skin began to look dry and flaky. I was faced with two options; buy a laso or find a different way to hydrate his skin.

I’m cheap so I chose the later.

I wracked my brain trying to think of a way to sneak the lotion into his daily routine but my options were limited. He doesn’t like wearing clothes while he is home so I couldn’t put the lotion into his night clothes (sounds crazy I know but their are socks you can buy like that so why wouldn’t it work for your whole body?)

My only other semi-sane option was to figure out a way to incorporate the lotion into his daily bath.

To my surprise it worked rather spendidly.

With a little trial and error I was able to get his skin looking and feeling silky smooth in no time, even with our wood burning stove leaving the air inside of our house drier than a popcorn fart.

What you will need:

1/2 cupLotion (any kind will do. I use Johnson and Johnson vanilla oatmeal baby lotion)

4 tablespoons ¬†Mineral oil ( otherwise known as baby oil. I prefer plain unscented mineral oil since it’s gentler on skin. That and I hate the smell of baby oil.)

A 1/2 gallon jug

6 cups of water

 

Pour the 6 cups of water into the jugs. Add the lotion and mineral oil, close the jugs and shake well until all of the lotion is dispersed evenly and there are no clumps remaining.

Pour about 1 cup (more or less depending on how much water is in the tub) of the mixture into the babies bath water after you have washed them with soap and allow them to play in the water for at least 5 minutes as to thoroughly saturate the skin.

That’s it. It’s super simple and there will be no more fighting with them.

 

Do you have any go-to hacks for moms everywhere? Share them in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

